Protective big brother

One of my biggest worries when my due date for my second child got ever closer was that my older son wouldn’t like the new arrival or would feel jealous of them. So I can’t tell you how happy it makes me when I see my eldest going for kisses and cuddles with my youngest and the look of joy on my baby’s face when he sees his big brother – fascinated by his antics!

I don’t think it’s bad that my husband and I can ask our two year old son to ‘look after his younger brother’ while we pop into the kitchen for a minute only to return to see the youngest surrounded by a huge selection of toys and being told a story from a book his big brother has memorised.

I have a number of friends who have got children of a similar age gap and they tell similar stories. I don’t know if there is a difference between brothers and sisters or whether it is down to an individual’s personality. I’d love to hear your experiences.

I’m hoping my children stay close as they get older, although I have no doubt there will be some highs and lows! It should be an interesting ride though!

 

2 Comments

Filed under Expectant mother, Parenting

2 responses to “Protective big brother

  1. What is your age gap? My son was an angel around his baby sister, UNTIL she started walking and became more competition. 🙂 Then it was a few months of hitting, whining, and a lot of anger! Now that she’s been walking for 4 months (she’s 15 mths, he’s 4.5 yrs) things are much better. Not perfect, but better.

    • mummymakesfour

      My two are 22 months apart. I’m sure once my youngest starts moving things will be different as you say! Good to know it gets better again though ; )

Leave a Reply

