Pregnancy brain – myth or magic?

I was gutted to read in the news when I was pregnant this time around that ‘pregnancy brain’ was a myth. While I didn’t lose use of all my senses, it was nice to know that there was a reason for some lapses in brain power. For example, in the last week before giving birth I called out the AA to fix my unresponsive car only to find I had flooded the engine (hitting the accelerator instead of the throttle).

As with a lot of things that the human body does to help repair / protect itself, it makes sense that the female form would offer some way of reducing the memory of the physical pain of childbirth. After all, there is no way to avoid that the wonder of childbirth does mean a lot of unusual strain on the body!

Myth or magic? I truly believe human beings are amazing things – I just have to look at my children to be reminded of that! Would be great to hear your thoughts / experiences.

 

Leave a comment

Filed under Expectant mother

Leave a Reply

